[Review] Biotherm Biosource hydra-mineral cleanser toning mousse

Standard

Hi everyone, I’ve been travelling hence the lack of posts. Speaking of travelling, I like to try samples cos they are easy to pack. Well, I got this 50ml tube when I bought the gift set (SGD 80) from Isetan during the December holiday period. It consisted of 1 full size Aquasource Gel 50ml with a sample size of this cleanser and also the Biosource toning lotion.

Image

Pefect size for travel eh?

I LOVE the Aquasource Deep Hydration Replenishing Gel (for normal/combi skin), and was excited to try this and the toner.

Result: I HATE it. As much as I would have love to love it, I really can’t. This cleaner STRIPS the moisture off my face and left it squeakly clean. It reminded me of a cheap cleanser I might have used years ago.

Once I put on my toner (did not use the biosource sample toning lotion), along with the rest of my travel skincare regime, I felt better. However, by the end of the day, I realised that the area around my eye was REALLY dry, and for the FIRST time in my life, it was flaking (a little, but more than enough).

Image

Notice the area above and around my eye, you can see “white” specks and find lines.

I was really puzzled why when I though it was supposed to be hydraing. Then, I noticed that it was BIOSOURCE and not AQUASOURCE. But, the whole set was in the same color! Aquasource contains thermal plankton cellular water – a nutrient-rich fluid responsible for preventing moisture loss from the skin’s surface but upon inspection of this cleanser, it is not a key ingredient but zinc.

If you would like to try this cleanser, perhaps it would work better if you have dry to normal skin.

THank you so much for reading! 🙂

3/4/12 Update: I don’t like to waste products so I’m using this as a body wash which isn’t as drying compared to using it on my face. It still has a tinge of “squeaky clean” feeling though. But definitely wayyyy too expensive and totally not worth it to use a facial wash as a body wash :s

3 responses »

  1. Haha its refreshing to see a ‘hate’ post! cool.. i was puzzled if this is a cleanser or toner until i read on… so what is BIOSOURCE targeting?

    • The zinc supposedly helps in cell regeneration and has anti-oxidant and balancing properties. Perhaps this is why it is a “toning” mousse

Leave a Reply

