[Review] Caudalie Cleansing Water

Standard

Hi everyone! So silly me forgot to pack my trusty Decoderm Cleansing Lotion. I took this chance to try another makeup remover. Off I went to Sephora and got their SA to recommend me something. My requirements were:-

  • Makeup remover for both face & eye
  • Need not remove waterproof makeup
  • Something that is travel friendly

And boy, did I get more than I bargained for. Here is the Caudalie Cleansing Water.

Here’s what this seemingly unassuming product claims and does for me.

“It is a 3 in 1 soap free, non rinse cleanser, makeup remover & toner for face and eyes”

Now, I only wanted a makeup remover. As a makeup remover, it was able to remove my rinsable Dior Iconic Extreme mascara and waterproof Revelon Eye Pen. Sometimes I do use a cleansing water in the morning when I don’t feel the need to use a heavier cleanser (since I washed the previous night before I sleep). So it’s nice to have a multipurpose product. Although for me, i almost always prefer to do a rinse after using these types of non-rinse cleansing water, mostly out of habit than anything. I haven’t tried this in place of my toner so can’t comment on that.

“Suitable for sensitive skin, dermatologist & ophthalmologist tested and suitable for contact lens wearers”

I don’t have sensitive skin but this water doesn’t bite or sting me skin, even around the eye area. Since I don’t wear contact lens anymore, I can’t comment on that. I however remember the days when removing makeup with contacts on can sometimes be unpleasant.

“Parabens and sulfates free”

“Micellar water captures dirt like tiny dirt magnets”

When I use it as a cleansing water in the morning, it removes a layer of dirt and oil, something that my Vichy cleansing water did not pick up as much.

Other things I like about this was that it was a screw lid (no spillage) and the bottle is squeezable. The smell is refreshing and reminds me of cucumbers.

The cons would be the price. A bottle of 100ml is USD14 before sales tax. I’ve already used more than half the bottle and it has only been 15 days.

Leave a Reply

