How to Lose Weight from Chubby Cheeks

Standard

This is the bane of my existence – my chipmunk cheeks. Although I heard many people tell me that it’s good to have chubby cheeks so I look younger, my chipmunk cheeks make me look and feel plumper.

I really wish that time can backtrack to last year when I lost some weight and my cheeks looked smaller. Now that married life agrees with me, the weight is starting to creep back. Oh well, I can’t complain about being happy so I decided to find some ways to resolve my body issues.

Thought I will share these facial exercises which I read from this page. It is kinda duh to say losing weight will help to lose the weight from the cheeks as well. So, I was really happy to see facial exercises I can do to help with the chipmunk cheeks.

1. Chew gum 

“Not only can chewing gum calm your nerves and freshen your breath, but it can also help you lose weight from your cheeks. The repetitive chewing motion will help strengthen your jaw. The best part is, you won’t even feel like you’re doing an exercise. You can set a goal of chewing gum for just a few minutes after every meal.”

Verdict from Marie: In Singapore, we can’t exactly get gum (go Wiki it, we’re famous for our gum ban. Plus I am not a fan of gum so no go for me.)

2. Do the “X-O” exercise

“Profoundly pronounce “X-O” at least fifteen times. Take a break and repeat the exercise three times. This is an easy maneuver that will help you move your jaw in two different ways, which will strengthen your jaw and burn fat from your cheeks. You can do this exercise any time — even when you’re at your desk at work.”

Verdict from Marie: I tried doing it and boy did my cheeks ache from the X-O exercise. I will try to do it regularly and see the effects of this X-O exercise over time.

3. Do the jaw opener.

“Open your mouth round and wide and hold this pose for a few seconds. Then, relax your jaw and repeat this motion nine more times, for a series of ten repetitions. You can repeat this move three times a day. If you do too many of these exercises at once, your jaw may get sore.”

Verdict: I felt my jaw ache almost immediately after doing this so it’s a no go for me if I do this and end up having to Botox my jaw!

4Do the cheek lift

“Lift up your cheeks toward your eyes as high as you can. Use the corners of your mouth to help lift your cheeks. You should feel like you’re trying to form a strained, awkward smile. You can even shut your eyes tightly to help lift your cheeks.”

Verdict from Marie: This was my favourite exercise to do as I felt it was easy to do and kinda fun! I strongly recommend doing this in the comfort of your room where no one looks at you in a funny way.

5 Make “fish lips.

“Draw in your cheeks until you’re making fish lips by puckering out your top and bottom lip. Hold this position as you try to smile. Hold the smile for ten seconds and repeat the position for ten counts.”

Verdict from Marie: I felt that this felt very similar to the next exercise, Make Puffy Cheeks so I decided to alternate between this and MPC for variety. It’s a fish and a puffer fish, fish and a puffer fish for me. Again, do watch out for a sniggering husband at the corner when doing these exercises.

6. Make Puffy Cheeks

“Close your mouth and fill your cheeks and mouth with air. Then, move the air from one cheek to the other as slowly as you can. Move the air from one cheek to the other at least ten times, and take the time to fill your cheeks with air again if necessary. Repeat this exercise three times daily.”

 

Make Puffy Cheeks with Pursed Lips from http://www.wikihow.com/Lose-Weight-from-Your-Cheeks

7. Smile

” Smiling also exercises your facial muscles and will make you lose those chubby cheeks. You can just smile on your own, holding each smile for ten seconds and repeating this action ten times, or you can make a goal of smiling more in your daily life. Not only will this make you lose weight from your cheeks, but it can help you feel more positive throughout the day.”

Verdict from Marie: I thought it was my extensive smiling that gave me chipmunk cheeks. Strange…

8. Massage your cheeks after exercising

“After completing a series of facial exercises, gently rub your fingers over your cheeks and jaw in a circular motion. This will help relieve tension and soreness after exercising.”

Verdict from Marie: I think that rubbing fingers over cheeks and jaws in an indiscriminate way might end up tugging your skin so what I think might be a better idea is to do a lymphatic drainage massage that my facial therapist does. This should aid with easing water retention as well as massaging the aching facial muscles.

Hope this post can help like-minded people achieve a slim face or at least get to know how to go about doing it. 

Leave a Reply

