[Review] Only Aesthetics QPX Brazilian IPL

Standard

I did a first trial session at Only Aesthetics for $55. They say it’s QPX but the machine clearly states IPL.

What makes QPX technology different?
QPX™ Quad Pneumatic technology provides the highest clinical performance at lower energy than conventional IPLs. Therefore highest in its class for safety. Making it possible to treat even skin type I – !V without causing burn to the darker skin tone.This is all made possible because of the unique technology in every QPX product.This technology is patented and whilst other IPLs may claim similar performance, only QPX can deliver.

How other IPLs work
All IPL devices use a flash lamp (a bit like a powerful camera flash) to create the necessary light energy to remove hair. However QPX-based devices control this flash lamp in a way that is much more sophisticated than other less-advanced systems. In most other IPLs, the electrical current surges through the lamp in a wave and the colour of light varies during this pulse. At its peak, the light energy is too high and produces too much blue light that must be filtered out. Much of the energy is lost so treatments are carried out at unnecessarily high energy levels that can be uncomfortable on the skin, and can only safely be used by a trained therapist.

Quad Pneumatic technology
QPX technology solves this problem with unique circuitry that creates a constant pattern of electrical current to the lamp—in a ‘Quad Pnuematic Pulse’. This perfect energy level is continuously generated, so the most effective treatments are produced at far lower energy levels with no harmful energy that needs to be filtered out. Quad Pneumatic technology makes QPX systems easy to use as there are no complicated or costly accessories required for the different treatments or skin types.

In the room..
Treatment wise it was TOTALLY painless. I’ve never done brazilian IPL before so I can’t gauge if it’s more or less painful. But seriously I couldn’t feel a thing except see the flash of light everytime they zap. Amazing! I can only compared it to waxing which to me is tolerable but not the most pleasant of experiences.

After all that zapping is done (~5min), the technician leaves you to clean yourself up with a box of tissue and a some wet wipes. Not that I’m being princessy but when I go for my waxing, I don’t hafta clean up down there. And what a mess it was, there was so much ice cold gel (prolly numbed the area so much that I felt no pain) and I took forever to get it really clean. Prolly took longer than the zapping itself :/

No pictures, so bear with me..

Finally, I got myself cleaned up. I inspected the final result. One thing I noticed was it was definitely not as clean as waxing which the technician mentioned at the start of my treatment. Not only there were a couple of missed hairs, the end effect and feeling is much like shaving (although I’ve never shaved down there either before).

Signing up..
All in all, I quite like it so I signed for the package which works out to be slightly under 1k. (will be more if you require zapping of the crack). The package is a 2 year program. 1 session every 3-4 weeks for the first 6 months and 1 every 2 months thereafter. This works out to be 15-17 for the entire 2 year span @ $58-$66 per session. Totally reasonable if you ask me. You can also opt for 6 or 12 month interest free installment payment plans with selected credit cards. I used UOB.

BUT I’m totally miffed cos the sales consultant DID NOT mention the cheaper option (also a 2 year program) but just offered me the accelerated one which was ~$300 more. After emailing them, I got a call a couple of days later from their manager regarding this issue and they were willing to refund me in credits.

Basically they are claiming PERMANENT removal as opposed to a few years kinda permanent.

Whitening?
They have the option of adding a whitening serum (before IPL) and a mask (after IPL) for $27 per service per session. I think they have a package for this as well. Or if you prefer a DIY home kit for more regular application, they have a bottle of whitening serum for ~$180. In any case I will be trying it out @ my next session which will be my 3rd visit. Maybe use my credits? ;p

Other QPX services..
The most popular hair removal treatments there are for underarm, half leg & brazilian. Recently they are now offering this service for men (think Boyzilian) too!

Interested to know more?
There have been many complaints from customers who have signed up or have bought groupon vouchers but aren’t able to reach them via their hotlines. So the best way these days to fix an appointment with them is via SMS/Whatsapp! Yay!

ONLYaesthetics™ @ Holland Village
25A Lorong Mambong
Tel: 6314 4434
SMS/whatsapp: 8500 4434
Email: hv@onlyaesthetics.sg

ONLYaesthetics™ @ Dhoby Ghaut
190 Clemenceau Ave
Singapore Shopping Centre #05-03
Tel: 6338 4434
SMS/whatsapp: 9731 4011
Email: bookings@onlyaesthetics.sg

Or check them out on their fb page here

9 responses »

  1. I’ve had terrible experiences with Only Aesthetics and would advise people to stay away from them. Simply cannot get through to make an appointment whether by phone, SMS or email. Last time it took a week to get an appointment made despite several phone calls and emails. Only got it made after a strongly worded email of complaint. A child could run a business better than these people. Take your money somewhere more prefessional.

    • Yeah, I agree that it was difficult to reach them to make appts initially. Anw, I have no trouble making my appointments these days. But just to be safe, I try to schedule the following appointment when I’m there for my treatment 🙂

  2. I’m posting this to prevent more ladies from falling for Dermis Beauty Wellness gimmicks (or scams I would call it). They have advertised on several coupons platforms and one of it is the 6/9/12 sessions of Brazilian IPL. Don’t fall for it, don’t buy!

    I bought a voucher from deal.com for 6 sessions for Brazilian IPL at Dermis Beauty Wellness at The Bencoolen recently. As stated in the voucher, it is meant to be Brazilian, meaning the entire area. If the company is only going to provide a bikini line service, then it should be written on the terms and conditions. False advertising. So, when I arrived for my first appointment, I was told by the China lady that it is only valid for 10 “zaps” per session and any additional “zap” would cost me $3. I was only informed about this a few seconds just before my treatment, when I was already lying on the treatment bed. (Good tactic, gives you very little time to think). Initially, I told the lady that I will only go for 10 zaps in that case but the lady persuaded me that an additional 10 zaps would only cost me $30. With that, I thought that the whole treatment will only take 20 zaps and I agreed since Brazilian is such a small part and it was quite affordable. However, to my horror, I was told that a total of 51 zaps were done after the treatment! Of cos, the whole idea was not to make me pay ONLY for the 41 zaps, but to make me sign a package of “unlimited” zaps during the 6 sessions which costs $588!

    Thinking that I didn’t want to purchase a whole package, I asked her if I can forego the remaining 5 sessions which amounts to a total of 50 zaps and use that to offset what I have done. She refused to budge and even raised her voice at me and demanded for the payment when I started negotiating with her for some time. I didn’t want to argue with her anymore and paid $123 for that 1 session.

    I urge all the ladies out there to google before you purchase any of such deals. I have written to the company but has yet to receive a reply. I’m considering filing a complaint with case.

  3. Heard a lot of OnlyAesthetics positive and negative reviews, one thing I was really really taken aback was at their customer service, apparently there are screen shots going around many forums, taken from Facebook.. might want to have more opinions on this if you’re selecting a place to get your ipl done.. 🙂

    http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/aesthetic-firm-misleading-product-name-threatens-sue-unhappy-customers-fb-publicly-4303253.html#post78071948

  4. Have you efer considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless think of if you added
    some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content iis excellent but with pics and clips, this site could certainly be one of
    the best in its field. Very good blog!

Leave a comment